Share The Love of Christmas

When I was in college many years ago. I was hundreds of miles from home and would be alone in the dorm at Christmas time. It was looking like the darkest Christmas of my life.

I remember walking back to my dorm room after wishing all of my dorm mates a happy holiday. I was down, depressed and feeling lonely. When I rounded the corner to the hall where my dorm room was located, I spotted an object placed in front of my door. As I approached I noticed that it was a gift all wrapped up in christmas paper and had a big red bow on top. I unlocked my door, went inside my room, sat on my bed and opened the gift. It was a rubiks cube. There was no card on the gift and I had no idea who had left it. That little rubik cube made my day. It made my Christmas. As it turned out, it was the only gift I received that year.

I have never fogotten that Christmas because of the generosity and love that someone showed to me. I still have no idea who placed that gift at my door. But, I know it was someone who knew my situation and went out of their way to do something special for me. Though, the gift may have cost just a few dollars, to me it was priceless. And, it taught me something: Christmas isn’t Christmas unless you share it with someone.

This year find a way to brighten someones holiday. A card, a phone call or a small gift can make a huge impact on a person’s life. They don’t even know who it is from. And, there are other ways to share the love of Christmas by donating your time, talent and treasure to those who are less fortunate. Charities are in ned of people who will share Christmas love to the homeless and hungry.

This holiday season remember that Christmas isn’t Christmas unless you share it with someone who needs it. Make a difference in someone’s life. It will bring joy to their world.

~ by DanielToops.com on December 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
