40 Days to a Better Me: Day 21 Your Wake Up Call

I was staying at the historic Brown Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky in the early 1980’s. I was in Louisville on business and was there for a week spent in long meetings and numerous training sessions. It was not a vacation. I would get back to the hotel in enough time to eat dinner and collapse into bed.

My first evening there, I called down to the front desk and requested a wakeup call for 5:30 AM. I am one of those people who rarely need an alarm clock. Getting up in the morning has never been an issue for me. As a child I would get up, dress myself and have a bowl of cereal before anyone in the house was awake. But on my trip to Louisville I was taxed mentally. I hit the bed hard and sleeping like a log.

When 5:30 AM the phone rang and I jumped out of my skin. I picked up the phone and said “hello”—and I heard a recorded message say “This is your wake up call. Have a nice day.” That day I really needed a wakeup. It came right when I needed it. Told me what it was and the rest was up to me.

In life you will get a wakeup call. These are those instances when your life is shaken out of sleep and forced to wake up and take action. Your wakeup call may have come when the doctor said your test result may be cancerous. It may have been when you found yourself on the floor grabbing your chest. Your wakeup call may have been when your spouse or significant other tells you they are leaving you for someone else. A wake up call may come when you find yourself unemployed from either being laid off or terminated. Wake up calls come in a variety of forms, but they all serve the same purpose and that is to force us to wake up and take action.

A wake up call is a good thing—as long as you don’t disregard it. I wonder how many people get their morning wakeup call and go back to sleep? Then they find themselves rushing around for the rest of the day and perhaps missing key appointments. Chaos and confusion are the results of not heading the wake up call.
The wakeup call lets you know that something needs to change. Your health needs to improve, your relationship needs help or finances need attention. The wakeup call will not solve the problem for you. The wakeup call will only alert you that something needs to change or things will get worse. It will only prod you to action and the rest will be up to you.

You will need to act. You cannot allow yourself to slide under the covers and ignore the issues that are facing you. They will not go away on their own. They will only change when you decide to wake up out of slumber and do something about it.

By heeding the wakeup call you are setting yourself up for self-improvement. You may feel groggy and disoriented but once you get moving, things will improve. You just need to get up and get going.

~ by DanielToops.com on April 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
