Destination–

Destination—

A number of years ago I was traveling from my home in Central Rural Louisiana to San Angelo, Texas.  I am not sure if you are familiar with the geography of these two places, but they are very different. I was leaving the lush green pines forests for the mesquite scrubs of arid West Texas.  My home in Woodworth, Louisiana was a world apart from where I was headed.

As I traveled to my destination I noticed that the landscape along the way changed as well.  I traveled from the piney woods to the rice fields and marshes along the gulf coast.  From there I entered into the urban landscape of Houston and then into the Texas Hill country around San Antonio.

Along my journey I saw the landscape change ever so slowly.  The change was gradual and when I became fully aware of them it was because they had became so obvious.  After many hours of driving I finally arrived in San Angelo. 

That long drive taught me some things that can be applied to everyday life:

  1. You can’t get to where you want to be if you stay where you are. 
  2. You must have a destination in mind
  3. You must have a road map to follow
  4. You must get going.

There was also one valuable lesson that the drive taught me:  Everything changes.  Change is essential to get you from where you are to where you want to be.  As long as you keep moving forward you will change.  Along with that change, come changes in values, perceptions, location and even associations.  Change is a necessary process to get you from where you are to where you want to be.  The changes will be subtle.  And, you won’t really realize that they have taken place until you reflect back upon where you started. 

Where do you want to go?  What is the goal for your life?  What do you what to achieve and become?  You will never reach those things if you stay where you are. So, get up and get going.  There is a road ahead and to reach your destination start by putting one foot in front of the other.  Begin by making a decision today to move in that direction.  Then get going.  Keep moving and before you know it, you will arrive at your destination.

Dan

~ by DanielToops.com on August 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
