Now is the Time

Now is the Time

Now is the Time

The Sandy Hook Elementary shooting knocked the wind out of me. I wept when I heard the news as I could not believe something so evil could happen to small children while at school. It shocked me and I know that it shocked our nation.
They say that time heals all wounds. Well, I must take issue with that statement. There is no way that any amount of time could heal the immeasurable loss the parents of the victims have experienced. They had their worlds turned upside down. All of the joy those children brought to their families is nothing but a memory. Their brief lives were but a vapor that rose and then vanished into the air. They are gone and never coming back.

There are Transcendentalists who believe that everything in the cosmos is interconnected and that everything happens for a reason. I can say that at one time I enjoyed that sense of naivety. That there was some big master plan that we are all are a part of. Then after years of seeing things that make absolutely no sense, I guess I lost my faith in that belief. I wish I could sing “we will understand it bye and bye”. But there is no explaining what happened. Nor, can I find solace in the idea of a God who would have twenty innocent children murdered in cold blood as part of his master plan. The shooting was a random act of violence. It did not happen because of homosexual unions or god being kicked out of the classroom. It happened because a man, who evidently suffered some mental deficiency, went into a classroom shooting and killed over twenty children. That’s the reason. It made no sense then and it never will.

The event did teach us all a valuable lesson: live now! Time is fleeting. We only have so many tomorrows left and there is only so much sand in the hour glass. Eventually, death will come to us all. It could be in fifty year or in the next fifty minutes. Don’t try to make sense of all the evil that transpires in the world. Stop trying to affix a reason to everything that happens. Some time things just don’t make any sense. So, live now. Enjoy the time you have with those you hold dear. Make the best of the time you have. Enjoy this gift from god and savor every experience life has. And, to be honest, it is through loss and pain that we truly experience life. Loss helps us to appreciate what we have. Live now. I take some liberty with the words of the Apostle Paul- “Behold NOW is the accepted time; behold NOW is the day of salvation” (2 Corinthians 6.2 NKJV). Today, right now, is all you really have. Live your life to the last drop.

~ by DanielToops.com on January 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
