Whitey Will Kill You

download
“I have some good news and I have some bad news.” Well, that may not have been exactly what my doctor told me, but his words had the same effect. I pondered what he said. If things didn’t change, there could be some serious issues later. If things didn’t change, then whitey would kill me.

Whitey had been a favorite of mine for as long as I can remember. When there was any celebration wedding, holiday or birthday Whitey was present. He never missed one. And, when there were times of grief and sorrow, he was there to comfort. No matter what was going on in my life, happy or sad, Whitey was there. I had been warned that Whitey could be a bad influence on me. But I just dismissed it. Whitey was my friend. And truth be told, I was oblivious to the fact that Whitey is a killer.

Who is Whitey? What is Whitey would be a better question. Whitey is not a person. Whitey is a thing or things. White is sugar, flour and salt. Three main ingredients of nearly everything we eat in U.S. culture. Sweet, savory and incredibly enjoyable to the pallet, we love Whitey. Yet, Whitey is a killer. And, Whitey will kill you.
I was part of a “holiness” Pentecostal denomination for over twenty years. I had heard numerous hellfire sermons on the evils of alcohol and drugs. I had heard 1 Corinthians 6.19 referred to in every sermon explaining the evils of chemical addiction.

“Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of The Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God?” (NLT)

There were thunderous shouts of affirmation from the congregation. We all agreed that drugs, alcohol and tobacco would defile the sacred temple of your body. And, then after service we would all run to our nearest buffet and be thankful we did not drink, smoke or take drugs.
I heard it said once that stealing is the greatest sin a person can commit. Whether it is murder or adultery, something is stolen. While I sat in my doctor’s exam room, it became apparent that if I did not kick Whitey out of my life, I would be stealing my health, my future and the joy of family. How did I let this happen? How could I continue to let it happen? It was a series of decisions that got me to where I am and it would take a series of decisions to get me to where I want to be. No amount of praying, speaking in tongues or holy anointing oil is going fix this situation. There is only one thing I can do: Kill Whitey before Whitey kills me.

This Lent my focus is not about giving up white sugar, flour and salt but becoming healthy. I have asked myself for forgiveness and I am moving ahead. And, I solicit your support. God Bless.

~ by DanielToops.com on February 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
