Change Your Mind

changeMy legs ached. I mean they really ached. And they had good reason to ache. I had been standing for nearly six hours when I finally got in the car to head home. But I wasn’t alone. I was with my son for some of that quality father-son time. We drove to Orlando, stood in line and went in. We along with several hundred other people had come to the House of Blues to see Sister Hazel perform. I stood there less than fifteen feet from the stage and watched the show. It was well worth the world of hurt my legs were feeling.

Sister Hazel has been around for awhile and though they do not enjoy wide spread popularity, they do have a very loyal fan base. They have had some popular songs. But one of their best known is “change your mind”. I love that song. For it underscores the profound truth that real lasting change takes place in the way we think. “If you want to be somebody else change your mind.”

Thoughts are the bricks that construct our lives. Negative thoughts will build you a prison. They will trap you into a manner of living that reflects the focus of your thoughts. But, if you think positive thoughts you will build yourself a happy life. The ancient proverb is true—“as a man thinks in his heart so is he”. What you think determines how you live your life.

You’re nobody’s fool. You’re not at the mercy of hurts, dysfunction or external influences. You have the choice to allow things to control you—(as your thinking sets the course of your life and how you live) or you can control their affect over you. I know that this is easier said than done. I’m still trying to get this together myself.

I know how unfair life can be. I know firsthand the sting of an injustice. I’ve experienced hardships that were caused by someone else. I’ve had to keep my focus on the man I want to be. That is the priority. I’ve seen what bitterness and hurt has done to the lives of some people. I don’t want to live out my life carrying that kind of baggage.

“If you want to be somebody else,
If you’re tired of fighting battles with yourself
If you want to be somebody else
Change your mind…”

If you don’t like the person you see in the mirror….change your mind

~ by DanielToops.com on February 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
