It all comes down to one thing.

decision_ahead_sign_01“Kiss him and tell him you love him” were the instructions the medical assistant gave to my wife as I lay on a stretcher being rolled out to a helicopter. It was then I realized the gravity of the situation I found myself in. I believed I was experiencing severe indigestion. I went to the ER simply because I was 51 years of age and I was having extreme discomfort. I went so they could confirm my self diagnosis and send me home with a whopping medical bill. But I had made a misdiagnosis.

The medical team was outstanding. Their body language and cool demeanor never gave away the seriousness of my condition. Personally, I believed them to be overly proactive. However, it became clear to me there was more to my story than I thought. They informed me that I would be transported by helicopter to a larger medical facility about 15 miles away. FLY ME FIFTEEN MILES? That is when the light bulb came on. I lay there knowing that I could be dead before the helicopter landed.

It was later that I found out that I was having a major heart attack at the time. My left arterial descending (AKA: the widow maker) was completely blocked. The mortality rate for a heart attack resulting from blockage in that artery is extremely high if not treated immediately. But fortunately I survived because I made one decision to go to the emergency room. My life was saved by one decision.

Why do some people seem to have “all the luck” while others don’t? Why do some people experience success after success while others seem to have a life of failure? Why do some thrive while others only survive? What makes the difference? It all comes down to one thing: the power of decision. Our decisions have the ability to empower, advance, frustrate or derail us, depending on what WE decide. Ultimately everything comes down to a decision.

You make the decision to:
A. Determine your focus. Where focus goes, energy flows. Your focus will determine what kind of energy you emit. And, that energy will attract more of the same.
B. Determine the meaning of events in your life. You decide and assign the meaning to events which transpire in your life. It isn’t the event as much as it is how we see the event that matters.
C. Determine the quality of your life. How do you want to live? The choice is yours.
“…I place before you Life and Death, Blessing and Curse. Choose life…” Deuteronomy 30.19 The Message Bible

~ by DanielToops.com on July 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
