Big Mac’s and Bibles

JesusSince my heart attack there are two things I must do for the rest of my life: watch what I eat and exercise. These two things are non-negotiable. I understand that for me to live a long healthy life I MUST do these two things every day.

During my recovery process I began to feel a bit convicted about not taking my health seriously. I had been taught to be a faithful steward of the things God had given me. But I limited that to my time, talents and treasure, not my health. I was in pastoral ministry for over 25 years and I can honestly say that I never addressed it. And, I can’t remember anyone teaching the importance of good health. Why? Why hadn’t I taught it? Why is it that proper diet and exercise are things most will never hear in any church?

The Apostle Paul said that our bodies are the temples of the Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 6.19) I had heard that verse used in regard to the use of tobacco, alcohol and drugs. I agree that tobacco and drugs are harmful to the body. I know that alcohol, if not consumed in moderation, can be just as harmful. But I had never heard anyone address the evils of the “all you can eat buffet!” Yet, the effects of overeating and obesity account for the majority of health issues in the United States. Most Christians would never stick a needle in their arm, but they will shove a Big Mac in their mouth. And, they are defiling their temple just like the addicted they preach to.

Why do we feel that poor health is an acceptable practice? I think it all goes back to “other world” theology. That is simply placing more emphasis on the world to come than the world we live in. And, I feel that’s an erroneous concept. For it devalues the world we live in. Therefore, we can do whatever we want to it because it’s all gonna burn anyway. We associate our bodies with this world and don’t worry about it because we will get a new one in heaven. So use it and abuse it! But why would we neglect a precious gift God has given to us? It makes no sense.

Here is your call to action:
1. Make your health a part of your spirituality.
2. Make your health a priority. Eat right and exercise
3. Educate yourself on proper nutrition and exercise.

All you have to lose is some weight and bad eating practices. People will complain about eating right that it doesn’t taste good. All I can say is, nothing tastes better than living. I know.

~ by DanielToops.com on September 5, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
