The Heart Attack Chronicles: Thankful

thanksThankful is an adjective that’s defined as being aware and appreciative of a benefit; grateful. It also defined as an expression of gratitude.

We often look back over our lives and express thankfulness for the big and obvious things. We express our thankfulness for a roof over our heads, food in our stomachs and clothes on our backs. When a large majority of the world lacks all or most of those things, we should be thankful for them. But most of the time we offer up token expressions of thankfulness for things taken for granted. I haven’t a clue what it’s like to lack any of these basic human necessities. So when I say I’m thankful, I guess to a degree I am. But, I have no idea what it’s really like to have never had them and then be blessed with them.

Not only do we take for granted the big things, we also take for granted the small and everyday things. They’re things we see and hear every day and never give a second thought. They have always been their intertwined into our routine. We enjoy them. We like them. But often we don’t give them a second thought. That is not until something happens when we lose or realize how close we came to losing them.

After surviving my heart attack there are several small things I can now fully appreciate. Like the feel of the sun on my face, the sound of the wind blowing through the trees and rain. Stubbing my toe, pulling a muscle and even angina remind me that I am alive. I’m alive. And I am thankful for this “benefit” I have been given. Hot or cold, rain or shine, every day on this side of the dirt is a good day and I am thankful for them. Then the other day, I heard something that made me stop and take notice. It was something small and subtle. It was the sound of my granddaughter’s laughter.

At that moment I stopped and realized how close I came to the edge of a six foot hole. How many times had I heard that same small voice and never thought anything about it? I thought of things I would have missed out on; her graduation, her wedding and perhaps even seeing her children. That small little squeal was thundered in my heart and soul. It was the most precious thing I had ever heard.

What I am trying to say is this: savor everyday life. Drink in every moment. Because every moment good or bad brings with it numerous things we can be thankful for. Not that we should be thankful for everything that happens. But there are things we can find to be thankful for through those things. Perhaps this is what the Apostle Paul had in mind when he penned “Be thankful in all circumstances….” (1 Thessalonians 5.18 NLT).

~ by DanielToops.com on November 27, 2013.

One Response to “The Heart Attack Chronicles: Thankful”

  1. […] The Heart Attack Chronicles: Thankful (dantoops.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
